Great start to 2017 in Cornwall.

After a couple of days spent at my parents house over my birthday and new year I headed down to Cornwall. There was time a stop at Jamaica Inn on Bodmin Moor, made famous by the writing of Daphne du Maurier which offers great views over the moor, a bite to eat, a shop, rooms to stay (if your brave enough with ghost stories) and a small museum.

Image may contain: one or more people, people standing, people sitting and indoor

Image may contain: mountain, grass, sky, outdoor and nature

View from Jamaica Inn

Our next stop as National trust members was a look around Trelissick Gardens in the winter sun. The Gardens are worth a visit and walk around in any season, and offered beautiful views over Carrick Roads in the winter sun. There was even a chance in the festive period to get an “elfie” by the Christmas tree.

Image may contain: sky, tree, grass, plant, cloud, ocean, outdoor, nature and water

View over the Carrick Roads

Image may contain: 2 people

“Elfie”

Image may contain: plant, flower, tree, outdoor and nature

Winter colour

As the afternoon drew on we headed into Falmouth for St Michael’s Hotel, with a large garden down to the beach and promenade. This was my first visit to the hotel and Falmouth and can’t fault anything, with exceptional service and cleanliness throughout. I booked with my partner after seeing a January deal with a 3 course meal, and my parents booked when I mentioned it, which was lovely.

Image may contain: sky, ocean, twilight, outdoor and nature

Sunset over Falmouth

Image may contain: sky, outdoor and nature

Balcony over the sea

It was also a great surprise my mum got us an upgrade to a seaview room with a huge balcony to watch the sun rising and setting over the sea 🙂 The room was large and luxurious with dressing gowns and slippers to use, and kept spotless. The pool was lovely and warm, along with a well kept Jacuzzi, Sauna and steam room. There is also a gym which my partner used and had a lot to offer. The ambiance of the hotel reminded me of being on a small cruise ship with many personal touches.

Image may contain: christmas tree, table and indoor

Christmas tree in the bar

The food at breakfast and dinner was delicious and with a great choice of options. Unfortunately for myself on the second night I was wasn’t feeling great so had to miss dinner, but the receptionist and other staff were fantastic and refunded me the dinner charge which I didn’t expect, and feel all would go out of their way to help offering the best service.

Image may contain: ocean, sky, outdoor, nature and water

View over the Bay.

Image may contain: ocean, sky, outdoor, nature and water

View over to St Mawes

On the second day I also felt energised after taking a 7 mile walk along the coast in the winter sun seeing the breathtaking views of the bay as we went. I would recommend St Michael’s and Falmouth, and will definitely return again.

Leave a Reply

