Four days working at Sharples.

Last week from Monday 29th February until Thursday 3d March I had the opportunity to work shadow and learn about how the Sharples Group works, and where I could possibly fit in if I was to become part of the team. My first impression was of a small organisation with friendly staff, who work well together and offer quick and efficient repairs of office equipment to satisfied customers.

Sharples Group prides itself on being a successful, award winning, independent office equipment company based in Warrington. Since starting up in 1977 a small and fully trained team offers businesses, throughout the North West and beyond, advice on a range of office equipment including scanners, printers, photocopiers and multifunctional devices. The business also offers a fast, efficient service, which is friendly and personal, and therefore stands out against competitors. More information can be found at:

http://sharplesgroup.com/ 

sharples group offices and vehicles

I came into contact with the Sharples Group through attending a Love Warrington Business breakfast at the Village Hotel in Warrington. Even though I didn’t get to chat to the Managing Director; Mark Brocklehurst at the event I got to know of him on Twitter afterwards. I then thought of asking about any vacancies or work placements, which is where these four days work shadowing and experience came about. Mark had mentioned a role he was thinking of and this four days was to be a trial to shadow members of the team. I feel Mark is an inspiring manager and gets involved in local charities, even by rowing across the Atlantic. This would be something I couldn’t imagine myself doing, but I would like to challenge myself in other ways, and have done fundraising and a 15 mile walk previously.

I thoroughly enjoyed my week and found myself chatting to many members of the team, both those who work mainly within the office, and the install team and engineers. These teams on call deliver and maintain the equipment for customers; both in the north west and sometimes beyond. I heard of members of the team delivering their great service when needed to London and the South East, although the suppliers of Toshiba, Lexmark and Oki amongst others would usually cover outside of the region.

I learnt a lot doing different tasks including watching the installs in  Warrington, Wigan, Manchester and Runcorn, and helping maintain a printer for a local company, by seeing how it is opened up and checked for any issues. I also spent some time in the office and learnt about how the system is kept updated with appointments and what has already been completed, including being contacted by a member of the engineer team about his next visit. I met many members of the team including David Griffiths (Mark’s Business Partner) and other members of the management team. I saw Sharples as a fantastic place to work with good morale and an atmosphere I feel could fit into. I really appreciated being offered this opportunity and will use it in the future and keep in touch wherever my work journey takes me.

Leave a Reply

